Home   |  2000   |  2001   |  2002   |  2003   |  2004

SSRL Structural Molecular Biology Summer School 2003

September 16-19, 2003


Course Organizers

Hiro Tsuruta, Ph.D., is a Senior Scientist at SSRL. His research activities mainly focus on structural studies of oligomeric proteins and macromolecular assemblies primarily by non-crystalline x-ray scattering techniques.

Serena DeBeer George, Ph.D., is a Beam Line Scientist at the Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Laboratory. Her research focuses on the use of X-ray absorption spectroscopy to elucidate the electronic and geometric structure of bioinorganic and organometallic systems.

Ana Gonzalez, Ph.D., is a Staff Scientist at SSRL. Research interests: Structural studies of proteins and methods for automation of data collection in macromolecular crystallography.


Paul Adams, Ph.D., is a Staff Scientist at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. Research interests: developing new software for automated crystallographic structure determination and data collection.

Ninian Blackburn, Ph.D., a Professor at the Oregon Graduate Institute. His areas of expertise include structure and function of oxidase and oxygenase metalloenzymes; spectroscopy of metal sites in proteins with emphasis on EPR, EXAFS, absorption edge, and FTIR spectroscopies; coordination chemistry and biochemistry of copper. Biochemistry of metal trafficking in cells.

Ashley Deacon

George T. DeTitta
, Ph.D., is a Professor and Chairman of the Structural Biology Department, Hauptman-Woodward Medical Research Institute in Buffalo, New York. Dr. DeTitta received his Ph.D. from the University of Pittsburgh in 1973, and he has 30 years experience in the field of crystallography and biochemistry. He has published widely in areas such as direct methods of structure determination, the macromolecular crystallization problem, structural crystallography, biotin, prostaglandins, and crystallographic programming.

Britt Hedman, Ph.D., is a Professor at SSRL. She has ~20 years experience with synchrotron radiation research, in particular x-ray absorption spectroscopy. Her current research interests focus on enzyme active site electronic and geometric structure using ligand and metal XAS.

Keith Hodgson, Ph.D., is the Howard H. and Jessie T. Watkins Stanford University Professor of Chemistry and SSRL Director. He is a pioneer in synchrotron-based biological research: performed the world's first SR protein crystal diffraction measurements; explored anomalous dispersion in what later became known as MAD; developed XAS for structural biology; and made early seminal contributions to biological SAXS.

John E. Johnson, Ph.D., is Professor, Laboratory of Structural and Molecular Virology at The Scripps Research Institute (TSRI) in La Jolla, California. Using biophysical techniques such as X-ray crystallography and cryoelectron microscopy, Dr. Johnson and his colleagues have gained a better understanding of virus structure and how viruses infect their hosts. This has led to exploration of ways of using molecular biology, mass spectrometry, and biochemical techniques to further understand particle assembly, maturation, and cell entry for insect, plant, and bacteriophage viruses.

Irimpan Mathews, Ph.D., is a Staff Scientist at SSRL. Research interests include analysis of structure-function relationships in proteins and structure-based drug discovery.

Matthew Newville, Ph.D., is a Staff Scientist for the University of Chicago at the Advanced Photon Source. His research interests include fundamental aspects of x-ray absorption fine-structure spectroscopy and the application of XAFS to studies of local atomic structures of disordered systems in material, earth, and environmental sciences.

James Penner-Hahn, Ph.D., is a Professor of Chemistry and Chair of the Biophysics Research Division at the University of Michigan. His research focuses on characterization of the active sites of Zn- and Mn-containing proteins.

Robert Scott, Ph.D., is Distinguished Research Professor in the Department of Chemistry, University of Georgia. He has nearly 25 years of experience in the application of x-ray absorption spectroscopy to biological systems. Recent emphasis is on metal sensor and DNA-binding proteins involved in transcription and (metallo) regulation.

Dmitri Svergun, Ph.D., is a Team Leader at the European Molecular Biology Laboratory, Hamburg Outstation. Research interests include structure determination of biological macromolecules from synchrotron x-ray and neutron small-angle scattering data.

Les Tari, Ph.D.

Patrice Vachette, Ph.D., is a Staff Scientist at the French synchrotron facility LURE (Orsay near Paris). Interest in the study of conformational changes and assembly mechanisms of biological systems in solution such as proteins, notably allosteric enzymes, and virus particles, both at equilibrium and kinetically, using primarily synchrotron SAXS.

Bill Weis, Ph.D., is an Associate Professor of Structural Biology and SSRL, and Director of the Biophysics Program at Stanford University. Research interests include cell membrane recognition, targeting, and adhesion processes studied by crystallographic structure determination and physical biochemistry.


Luisa Andruzzi, Oregon Health & Science University

Rachel Behan, Penn State University

Michaeleen Callahan, UC Berkeley

Devin Close, University of Utah

Jason Davies, Stanford University School of Medicine

Frederic Fellouse, Genentech

Kelly Gaffney, SSRL

Mehmet Karabiyik, The University of Michigan

Bonnie Leung, University of Calgary

Kari Lunder, Pennsylvania State University

Henry Maun, University of Freiburg/Genentech

Yvonne Newhouse, Gladstone Institutes

David Pettigrew, Oxford University

Michael Pushie, University of Calgary

Kianoush Sadre-Bazzaz, University of Utah

Wen-Jun Shen, Stanford University

Jining Wang, Stanford University

Matthew Worthington, Indiana University